External Supervisory Commitee

The members are:

Professor of Chemical Biology and Research Director at the School of Pharmacy. He has pioneered studies on the structure and recognition of G-quadruplex nucleic acids as novel therapeutic targets. Published ca. 475 papers together with 12 patents, and his current h-index is 75. An example of his work being translated into new therapeutic agents is given by the novel antibiotic (SMT19969), which is now starting a Phase II trial.

  • Michael R. Hamblin, Harvard Medical School and Affiliated Faculty of Harvard-MIT Division of Health Science and Technology, USA

Associate Professor of Dermatology at Harvard Medical School and Principal Investigator at the Wellman Center for Photomedicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, was trained as a synthetic organic chemist and joined Wellman Labs in 1994. Associate Editor of 7 reputed journals and member of editorial boards of a further 15 journals, edited and authored several books, published over 200 papers together with 10 patent families, and has an h-index of 43. An example of his work is the upcoming textbook entitled “Handbook of Photomedicine” with 70 chapters and 800 pages.

Vice President and Head of Global External Innovation and Alliances of Global Drug Discovery (GDD) of Bayer Pharma AG. He is responsible for sourcing, development and execution of external innovations for GDD, received his PhD in chemistry form Hanover University, Germany, in 1982. Honorary professor at the Technical University Berlin in 2002, and teaches now at the Free and Technical University in Berlin.

Comments are closed